Magento Expert Forum - Improve your Magento experience

Results 1 to 6 of 6

How much memory limit to magento's process?

  1. #1
    New member Kefei Sima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default How much memory limit to magento's process?

    I found magento eat a lot of memory.
    Currently,each php process for magento would eat about 700M.Is it normal?
    the list is top command from my server:
    22935 apache 20 0 796m 167m 123m S 11.6 0.5 38:10.43 php-fpm
    22934 apache 20 0 795m 167m 122m S 2.7 0.5 38:16.69 php-fpm
    22933 apache 20 0 793m 166m 124m S 12.3 0.5 38:10.56 php-fpm
    22952 apache 20 0 791m 165m 124m S 9.0 0.5 38:29.56 php-fpm
    22925 apache 20 0 794m 165m 121m S 11.0 0.5 37:51.22 php-fpm
    22950 apache 20 0 793m 164m 121m S 8.6 0.5 38:36.87 php-fpm
    22926 apache 20 0 793m 164m 121m S 0.0 0.5 38:13.07 php-fpm
    22954 apache 20 0 793m 163m 121m R 8.6 0.5 38:07.99 php-fpm
    22948 apache 20 0 793m 162m 120m S 4.0 0.5 38:44.92 php-fpm
    22938 apache 20 0 793m 161m 119m S 0.0 0.5 38:08.42 php-fpm
    22924 apache 20 0 793m 161m 119m S 0.0 0.5 38:02.26 php-fpm
    22932 apache 20 0 793m 160m 118m S 8.0 0.5 38:04.76 php-fpm
    22955 apache 20 0 787m 159m 123m S 3.0 0.5 38:18.50 php-fpm
    22947 apache 20 0 788m 159m 121m R 6.6 0.5 38:08.55 php-fpm
    22953 apache 20 0 788m 157m 119m S 5.0 0.5 37:53.66 php-fpm
    22918 apache 20 0 786m 155m 119m S 7.0 0.5 38:13.83 php-fpm

    View more threads in the same category:


  2. #2
    Junior Member rocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    It is not normal at all. But the memory eat belong to many factor, not only magento process. How 's your server configuration?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to rocker For This Useful Post:

    Kefei Sima (05-04-2014)

  4. #3
    New member Kefei Sima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks rocker.
    I set
    apc.shm_size=396M
    apc.num_files_hint=10000
    apc.user_entries_hint=10000
    apc.max_file_size=5M


    and under website's root .htaccess
    php_value memory_limit 256M
    php_value max_execution_time 18000

    Is apc shm_size too large?I just use apc cache ,session use file cache.
    I am not sure what other settings' value should provid.
    And there are about 20k simple products.While before,it also need about 500-600M.

  5. #4
    Moderator shunavi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 25 Times in 16 Posts

    Default

    I think you should try to install one of full page caching extension, it will save a lot of resource. And then use one of CDN like cloudflare to see the changes of performance.
    Quote Originally Posted by Kefei Sima View Post
    Thanks rocker.
    I set
    apc.shm_size=396M
    apc.num_files_hint=10000
    apc.user_entries_hint=10000
    apc.max_file_size=5M


    and under website's root .htaccess
    php_value memory_limit 256M
    php_value max_execution_time 18000

    Is apc shm_size too large?I just use apc cache ,session use file cache.
    I am not sure what other settings' value should provid.
    And there are about 20k simple products.While before,it also need about 500-600M.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to shunavi For This Useful Post:

    Kefei Sima (05-04-2014)

  7. #5
    Junior Member rocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    It is not enough to know the server configuration. How 's the CPU, RAM and do you install any full page caching extension?

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to rocker For This Useful Post:

    Kefei Sima (05-04-2014)

  9. #6
    New member Kefei Sima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks shunavi and rocker.
    I did not use full page cache.I tried full page cache such as zoom full page cache and some other extension,however some have conflicts with existing extension and some looks no fuction for the speed in the development server.So I did not use them to save the memory.I think the cdn would increase the performance just as shunavi suggest,but it would not lower the momeory for each php process(when there ar more and more connections at the same time,then the memory would be over shortly).I just wonder whether it is caused by the large framework of magento.
    This is the one snapshot for top:
    Tasks: 211 total, 4 running, 207 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 53.8%us, 1.4%sy, 0.0%ni, 43.5%id, 1.3%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 32910264k total, 32469020k used, 441244k free, 2685376k buffers
    Swap: 20477936k total, 150936k used, 20327000k free, 21267312k cached

    The memory is 32G and the cpu is :
    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 6
    model : 58
    model name : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1245 V2 @ 3.40GHz
    stepping : 9
    cpu MHz : 3392.209
    cache size : 8192 KB

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •