Magento Expert Forum - Improve your Magento experience

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Move Magento Cache to RAM by tmpfs

  1. #1
    Administrator david's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts

    Lightbulb Move Magento Cache to RAM by tmpfs

    Pretty straight forward.

    First important is to check which user / group has the current permission, no point of loading a ram drive if magento can’t write to it.

    so

    Code:
    cd /home/magento/var/
    then perform

    Code:
    ls -a
    Should give you a basic view of the current owner.

    Now, we can create our tmpfs drives.

    Code:
    mount -t tmpfs -o size=128m tmpfs /home/magento/var/cache/
    then

    Code:
    chown user:group /home/magento/var/cache
    
    chmod o+w /home/magento/var/cache
    Perform the same for /var/sessions

    Their you go, you now have a very fast magento cache

    Only downside if you reboot you shall have to remount them, otherwise you can add them to you /etc/fstab

    View more threads in the same category:


  2. #2
    Junior Member Goivvy.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    do you have links on by how much it improves performance? (if any)

  3. #3
    New member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking and checking back often!
    judi poker online | poker online

  4. #4
    New member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Can you also check dewapoker

  5. #5
    Junior Member clapcreative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    149 Mcafee court , Thousand Oaks CA 91360
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    I think moving /var to a tmpfs is probably not your biggest bottleneck and would likely be more trouble than its worth. Make sure Magento caching is enabled and you have APC enabled.

Similar Threads

  1. How to move magento to new Hosting & domain?
    By jaredovi in forum Programming & Development
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22-02-2019, 10:45 AM
  2. Adding Cache Support to Magento Blocks
    By sgdev in forum Magento Speed up, Performance and Optimize
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-05-2014, 10:47 AM
  3. Magento Cache strategy for best performance
    By david in forum Magento Speed up, Performance and Optimize
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29-05-2014, 08:10 AM
  4. How to configuring APC cache for Magento?
    By david in forum Programming & Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24-03-2013, 09:33 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •